Dublin Part 2

I don’t know why, but I haven’t been very interested in writing about my time in Dublin. Maybe because it was over a month ago? Oh well. So, this post probably won’t be very interesting.

On Monday, I went to the Guinness Storehouse and the Jameson Distillery. I liked them both. Guinness was definitely very showy and almost overdone but very interactive which I liked. You know what I don’t like? Guinness. It is disgusting and I hate it. I did have some chocolate with caramel in the middle that was flavoured with Guinness and that was DELICIOUS. My favorite part of the Guinness storehouse was learning how to pour draught Guinness. The coolest thing that I learned is that Arthur Guinness signed a 9,000 year lease on the land for the St James Street Brewery, which is just seriously crazy and amazing.

The Jameson tour was a little more museum-y. They took us through how whiskey is made, and our tour guide was very funny. My favorite parts of the tour were seeing the whiskey in different stages of aging in the barrels and seeing how the colour changes and how it evaporates out. Now I understand why old whiskey is so damn expensive. There is a specific smell to aging whiskey depending on the type of barrel used and they have one you can smell and the tour guide asked if anyone wanted to try smelling it and then no one said anything, and he called on me. I went up there and put my nose to the little place to smell and it smelled really strongly of alcohol, obviously, but also I could smell sweetness and also some of the wood. The other cool part of the tour was the whiskey tasting and I definitely tasted the difference between them. We tasted American Whiskey, Scotch and Jameson (obviously). My favorite was the Jameson, the Scotch was disgusting and the American Whiskey was Jack Daniels and was just, typical.

Tuesday we took a bus ride out to the little seaside village of Howth and it was nice to get out of the city again. We walked all over and up the hill that the town sat over and got a good look at the landscape. It was a relaxing last day.

And thats it for Ireland! I hope to go back one day and see more of the country, and maybe go in the summer to see the flowers and trees and all.

Leave a comment